Early Years (including SEND)

Cognus’ Early Years team works closely with settings (pre-schools, nurseries, childminders and early years provision in schools) in the Early Years sector and promoting Early Years practice to ensure that all children benefit from high quality provision.

We provide support for all settings by carrying out advisory visits, as well as email and telephone advice. Within the team, we have advisors for all aspects relating to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and childminders, as well as advisors for Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND).

If you think that your child may need SEND support, contact your child’s setting, school or health professional and they can make a referral to us.

When visiting a setting or school to support an individual child, we always meet with parents/carers and can offer advice and more information. We’re also happy to meet with parents on an ongoing basis, if necessary.

To find out more, contact one of our team below.

Early Years SEND Advisors

Jane Gates: jane.gates@cognus.org.uk or 07736 338 981

Lisa Sheridan: lisa.sheridan@cognus.org.uk or 07736 338 979

Michelle Williamson: michelle.williamson@cognus.org.uk or 07701 280 991

Early Years Advisors

Nick Banham: nick.banham@cognus.org.uk or 07736 338 989

Jan Capon: jan.capon@cognus.org.uk or 07736 338 984

Childminder Development Officer

Tania Long: tania.long@cognus.org.uk or 07736 338 223